Old Years Night

General Stuff about Bermondsey thats not listed
Duberry Sue

Old Years Night

Postby Duberry Sue » Sun Jul 24, 2022 8:17 pm

Hi. I'm new to this sight and must say I've really enjoyed the content I've seen so far. I am proud to say that I am a Bermondsey girl, from Bermondsey parents, grand-parents and great grand-parents. I'd really like to know the answer to my question, if anyone can. I grew up knowing/calling New Year's Eve.....as Old Year's Night. However, nobody outside of my family (and that's only me now} call's it Old Year's Night. I hope I'm not the only one. Was is my family's name for it or is/was it a Bermondsey/London thing?

kiwi

Re: Old Years Night

Postby kiwi » Sun Jul 24, 2022 11:47 pm

Duberry Sue wrote:Hi. I'm new to this sight and must say I've really enjoyed the content I've seen so far. I am proud to say that I am a Bermondsey girl, from Bermondsey parents, grand-parents and great grand-parents. I'd really like to know the answer to my question, if anyone can. I grew up knowing/calling New Year's Eve.....as Old Year's Night. However, nobody outside of my family (and that's only me now} call's it Old Year's Night. I hope I'm not the only one. Was is my family's name for it or is/was it a Bermondsey/London thing?